2022 Special Election

The La Jolla Community Planning Association is holding a special election to fill a midyear vacancy and is encouraging anyone eligible to apply. To be eligible to run for a seat, a candidate must be a LJCPA member and have attended three of the group’s meetings in the 12-month period before the election, which will be held by mail in July. There will be a candidate forum during the meeting Thursday, June 2, 2022.

The special election will be held in connection with the July 2022 La Jolla CPA Meeting. The voting process will be outlined at the June 2022 LJCPA Trustee meeting.

Candidates announce themselves before the end of the June LJCPA meeting. They can submit statements that are available online, linked to their names on the list below, and they may make brief statements at the February meeting.

To be eligible to run for a trustee seat for the July 2022 election, candidates must have been eligible by the regular May 2022 meeting, must be Members, and must have attended the required number of LJCPA meetings in the 12-month period preceding the election; that is, June 2021 through May 2022, inclusive.

To vote in the election, Members must have attended at least one LJCPA meeting in the 12 months up to and including the May 2022 meeting, and must identify themselves as the election clerks specify. No one can vote without acceptable identification.

The election committee currently comprises Janie Emerson, Bob Steck, Donna Aprea, Larry Davidson, Suzanne Weissman, and Kathleen Neil.

There is more information on the main Elections page.

Candidates for the 2022 Special Election (1 vacancy)

These are the candidates (in the order received, as of May 19). Click on candidates’ names to see their candidate bios and/or statements.