

La Jolla Community Planning Association

PO Box 889, La Jolla, CA 92038 ♦ http://www.LaJollaCPA.org ♦ info@LaJollaCPA.org

August 5, 2021

Honorable Todd Gloria Mayor, City of San Diego 202 C Street, 11th Floor San Diego, CA 92101

RE: LDC Sec. 141.0302(b)(2)(G)

Dear Mayor Gloria, Council President Campbell and Members of San Diego City Council,

At its July meeting, the La Jolla Community Planning Association, the designated Community Planning Group for La Jolla, discussed various recent and pending initiatives, at both the City and State level, to increase the availability and affordability of housing. Of specific interest were SB 9 & SB 10, as well as recently enacted changes to Section 141.0302(b)(2)(G) of the Municipal Code.

Although it is important that San Diego act in concert with the State and other communities, San Diego seems to be moving more rapidly and aggressively than the State. Especially concerning are the City's ordinances related to accessory dwelling units and other density-related zoning issues. Municipal Code §141.0302 goes well beyond State law, permitting much greater density in San Diego's single-family zones than required elsewhere in California.

The LJCPA asks that the Mayor and City Council to immediately amend San Diego's ADU ordinance to bring it into exact conformity with State law. The LJ CPA further asks that no further legislative action to densify single family zones be taken until there has been ample opportunity for City-wide deliberation from CPGs and the general public to assess both how well current multi-family up zoning efforts have succeeded in addressing the area's very real affordable housing shortage and to determine unintended consequences in single family zones so ill effects may be corrected going forward.

Sincerely,

Diane Kane, President La Jolla Community Planning Association Cc: Todd Gloria, Mayor, MayorToddGloria@sandiego.gov
Joe LaCava, Council District 1, JoeLaCava@sandiego.gov
Jennifer Campbell, Council District 2, JenniferCampbell@sandiego.gov
Stephen Whitburn, Council District 3, StephenWhitburn@sandiego.gov
Monica Montgomery Steppe, Council District 4, MMontgomerySteppe@sandiego.gov
Marni von Wilpert, Council District 5, MarnivonWilpert@sandiego.gov
Chris Cate, Council District 6, ChrisCate@sandiego.gov
Raul Campillo, Council District 7, RaulCampillo@sandiego.gov
Vivian Moreno, Council District 8, VivianMoreno@sandiego.gov
Sean Elo-Rivera, Council District 9, SeanEloRivera@sandiego.gov
Mike Hansen, Director, Department of City Planning, MHansen@sandiego.gov
Elyse Lowe, Director, Development Services Department, ELowe@sandiego.gov

